Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, use any of these supported browsers: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge.
Skip to main content


The Magic Gang


12 Upcoming Events

United Kingdom

11 Events

International Events

1 Events
Loaded 12 out of 12 events


Spreading more of their indie-pop charm

New album Death Of The Party is available here.

A harmony-rich band, The Magic Gang have a flair for narrative as well as blending the sounds of pop and alt rock.

Jack Kaye, Angus Taylor, Kristian Smith and Paeris Giles – who were previously members of the groups Home School, Yrrs and Echochamp – got together in 2013. Although they're all from the New Forest area, The Magic Gang formed in Brighton.

Drawing inspiration from the rich harmonies of The Beach Boys and The Beatles and the fuzzy, melodic indie of Weezer and Teenage Fanclub, they released the songs No Fun and Alright in 2015, following them up with more singles and three EPs (humorously titled EP, The Second EP From and Third EP) over the next two years. The quartet also landed a couple of big support gigs in 2017 with bands like Wolf Alice and Sundara Karma.

After The Magic Gang dropped their self-titled full-length album, it was hailed by several music publications as one of the best debuts of 2018. Thanks to life-affirming anthems like Getting Along and All That I Want Is You, the record landed in the top 20 on the UK official albums chart.

The quartet’s follow-up album, Death Of The Party, comes out on 21 August 2020. Lyrically inspired by Lou Reed, Alex Turner and Jonathan Richman, it was recorded in Atlanta with Grammy Award-winning producer Ben H. Allen (Gnarls Barkley, Animal Collective). Containing the singles Take Back The Track, Make Time For Change and Think, this collection of songs evolves their sound while exploring anxieties about relationships, money and the future.

On 20 July 2020, The Magic Gang announced a UK headline tour for March and April 2021.


The Magic Gang are going on tour in March 2021 in support of their album Death Of The Party. They are also supporting Blossoms on their spring 2021 tour.

The Magic Gang’s UK headline tour will stop in the following cities from 12 March to 1 April 2021:


Yes, The Magic Gang along with Fever are supporting Blossoms during their run of UK shows from 10 March to 3 April 2021.

The Magic Gang are a quartet comprised of Jack Kaye and Kristian Smith on guitar, Angus Taylor on bass and Paeris Giles on drums.

The Magic Gang were formed in Brighton, but the band members all hail from the New Forest.

The Magic Gang have recorded two albums: 2018’s self-titled debut and 2020’s Death Of The Party.

Among The Magic Gang’s most popular songs are the following:

  • How Can I Compete
  • All That I Want Is You
  • Getting Along
  • All This Way
  • Slippin’
  • Alright