Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, use any of these supported browsers: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge.
Skip to main content


Shed Seven


21 Upcoming Events

United Kingdom

20 Events
Loaded 20 out of 21 events



Yorkshire-based '90s indie heroes

Get the live album Another Night, Another Town here

Part of the Britpop explosion, Shed Seven were formed in York in 1990 from the ashes of the band Brockley Haven. Comprised of vocalist Rick Witter, bassist Tom Gladwin, guitarist Joe Johnson and drummer Alan Leach, they entered several local Battle of the Band competitions and were signed to Polydor Records in 1993. Around the same time, Johnson left the group and was replaced by guitarist Paul Banks.

Shed Seven’s debut double A-side Mark/Casino Girl came out in early 1994 and was followed by Dolphin, which cracked the UK’s top 30 singles chart. The success of their third single Speakeasy led to TV appearances that greatly increased their profile.

By the end of 1994, Shed Seven's debut studio album Change Giver was released. Featuring a series of unapologetically upbeat rock songs, it peaked at No.16 on the UK albums chart and spawned the hits Where Have You Been Lately? and Ocean Pie.

Inspired by bands like The Smiths, Blur, Oasis and Morrissey, Shed Seven were also praised for their own sound, which showcased structured guitar melodies and soaring vocals.

In 1996, Shed Seven unveiled their follow-up A Maximum High, preceded by the lead singles Where Have You Been Tonight?, Getting Better and Going For Gold. The album got even stronger reviews than its predecessor, and the band spent the next two years touring the UK and Ireland.

Their third album Let It Ride was released in 1998, with the greatest hits collection Going For Gold following in 1999.

In the early 2000s, Shed Seven left Polydor Records, plus Banks departed and was replaced by Johnson, who had played with them in the early 1990s. They released their fourth album Truth Be Told with Artful Records in 2001.

Shed Seven announced they would split in 2003, after concluding a hugely successful tour to thank their fans that resulted in the release of their first live album, Where Have You Been Tonight? The band reformed in 2007 and went on a reunion tour that included each member of the line-up from throughout the years.

Shed Seven released their fifth album Instant Pleasures in 2017. Featuring their first new material in 16 years, the record peaked at No.8 on the UK albums chart.

In 2020, the band self-released the No.31-charting live album Another Night, Another Town capturing their performances from 2018’s headline show at Castlefield Bowl in Manchester and their 2019 tour.

In late April 2021, Shed Seven announced they’d be celebrating that album as well as the 25th anniversary of A Maximum High with a UK tour in November and December 2021.


Shed Seven announce winter UK dates

Shed Seven announce winter UK dates

The band will perform across the country in November and December 2021 with their Another Night, Another Town – The Greatest Hits Live tour. Tickets on sale now.


Shed Seven are touring the UK from 25 November – 21 December 2021 in support of their live album Another Night, Another Town plus to celebrate the 25th anniversary of A Maximum High.

Shed Seven will be taking their Another Night, Another Town – The Greatest Hits Live tour to the following UK cities in 2021:

  • Aberdeen
  • Glasgow
  • Newcastle
  • Sheffield
  • Hull
  • Liverpool
  • Leicester
  • Norwich
  • Cambridge
  • Birmingham
  • Nottingham
  • Manchester
  • Oxford
  • Brighton
  • Bristol
  • London
  • Leeds (for two shows)

Shed Seven is being supported by Mark Morriss (The Bluetones), Nigel Clark (Dodgy) and Chris Helme (The Seahorses), who are performing together as MCH. The three-piece have been recording new music which will be revealed in late 2021.

Tickets for Shed Seven’s 2021 tour dates are on sale now.