Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Music
  3. Rock/Pop
  4. Pearly Gates
Pearly Gates


Pearly Gates Tickets

0 Upcoming Events

We're sorry, but we couldn’t find any events

About Pearly Gates

Billups was born in Alabama in 1946. She joined The Flirtations with sisters Earnestine Pearce and Betty Pearce in 1964 and moved with the group to London, England in 1968 where their music was popular. Pearly left the group in 1973 and released her first single "Sad Old Shadow" on Polydor Records under the name Vie. She did not adapt her artist name Pearly Gates before her second single "Johnny and the Jukebox" in 1974. Several more singles followed in the late 70s on RCA Records and Bronze Records and she remained a popular artist on TV, being a regular performer on the Cliff Richard show. In 1979, she completed her first album Fading Into the Night with producer Ian Levine, although the album was supposed to have been released by American singer Cobie Jones who ultimately didn't make it to the sessions. The album, however, became a victim of the disco backlash and wasn't released until 16 years later.

In 1985, she enjoyed a huge Hi-NRG hit with the song "Action" and also toured with Madeline Bell and Katie Kissoon, performing with James Last Orchestra. Two of her unreleased disco tracks were released on 12" singles in Levine's Nightmare Gold series in 1987. In 1995, Levine recorded six new tracks with her (including a remake of "Action" and released them along with her lost 1979 album on the CD The Best of Pearly Gates.

Pearly Gates can be seen gracing the front cover of Cliff Richards new album "Soulicious" and is also featured in the BBC documentary "Lionel Ritchie" and comes to the Shaw hot on the tails of her performances at the Royal Festival Hall.

Her new album "On A Winning Streak" recently released on Night Dance Records is available to purchase, featuring tracks written by The Bee Gees, and produced by Ian Levine, Soren Jensen and Cline Scott of Jigsaw.