Skip to main content


Fontaines D.C.


16 Upcoming Events

Select Date

United Kingdom

15 Events

International Events

1 Events
Loaded 16 out of 16 events


New album 31 July 2020 and new tour announced for 2021

Irish post-punks Fontaines D.C. came together at music college in Dublin. Grian Chatten (vocals), Conor Deegan III (bass), Carlos O’Connell (guitar), Conor Curley (guitar) and Tom Coll (drums) bonded over a mutual love of poetry, from Kerouac and Ginsberg to Irish icons such as Yeats and Lorca. They named their band after the crooner Johnny Fontaine from The Godfather, adding the D.C. (Dublin City) after discovering a similarly named LA band.

The band’s initial releases were two short volumes of poetry and these lyrical foundations featured prominently on their critically acclaimed 2019 debut album Dogrel. The record blended a muscular post-punk sound with vivid verse barked out in Chatten’s charismatic Dublin accent, most notable on singles Big, Boys In The Better Land and Hurricane Laughter. A slew of five-star reviews and album of the year awards followed, notably from Rough Trade and BBC 6 Music.

Relentless touring in the wake of Dogrel took its toll on the band. Back home in Dublin, Chatten's fear of no longer being able to write led to the band quickly setting to work on a follow-up. In May 2020 they announced that their second album, A Hero’s Death, was set for release at the end of July. The band also released the title track as the first single, accompanied by a video starring Irish actor Aiden Gillen (Game Of Thrones, The Wire). A second single I Don’t Belong followed in June. The album signalled a move to a darker and more atmospheric sound than its predecessor, while the artwork (featuring the legendary Irish warrior Cú Chulainn) and album title (inspired by the writings of Brendan Behan) showed that Irish literature remained a cornerstone of the band's identity.

In support of the new record, the band announced their biggest UK tour yet for May 2021, starting at Manchester Academy and winding up with a huge show at London's Alexandra Palace.

Pre-order A Hero's Death here


The band met in Dublin where they were all studying. Only frontman Grian Chatten grew up in Dublin though.

The band's new album is called A Hero's Death and it comes out on 31 July 2020.

The D.C. stands for Dublin City. The band added it after they discovered a band in LA already had taken the name Fontaines.

Some of the band's most popular songs are:

• Hurricane Laughter

• Big

• Liberty Belle

• Roy’s Tune

• A Hero’s Death

• Boys In The Better Land

• I Don’t Belong

• Dublin City Sky

The band is made up of :

• Grian Chatten (vocals)

• Tom Coll (drums)

• Conor Curley (guitar)

• Conor Deegan III (bass)

• Carlos O’Connell (guitar)

The band has announced dates in the following cities:

• Manchester

• Leicester

• Leeds

• Newcastle

• Cambridge

• Sheffield

• Birmingham

• Cardiff

• Bristol

• Bournemouth

• Southampton

• London