Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, use any of these supported browsers: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge.
Skip to main content


British National Squash Championships


0 Upcoming Events

We're sorry, but we couldn’t find any events



The best of the British compete

Since being launched in 1974, the British National Squash Championships have become one of the most important and respected events on the circuit. The tournament has a great history beginning with Johnnie Leslie claiming the first men’s title in 1974 and Sue Cogswell winning the first women’s title, which was added the following year.

Since the inception of the British National Squash Championships, Yorkshire has produced the most Nationals champions with seven different winners across the men’s and women’s main draws.

Typically held each year in February, the Nationals usually involve Masters events from the men’s and women’s main draws in age groups ranging from 35 to over 80. However, the youngest player at compete at a tournament was 13-year-old Sam Todd from Pontefract in 2017, with Lance Kinder becoming the oldest competitor at the age of 84 at the 2020 championships.

Nick Matthew holds the record for having won the most British National Squash Championship men’s titles with 10 in total, while Cassie Jackman has bragging rights to six women’s titles.

Although the event debuted in London, it has been staged all across the UK. From 2003 to 2018, the tournament was held at Manchester’s National Squash Centre, but it moved to Nottingham for the 2019 and 2020 editions.

Following a challenging 18 months for the game due to the coronavirus pandemic, England Squash announced that the 2021 AJ Bell British National Squash Championships would be staged at Manchester’s National Squash Centre.

Held from 3 ­– 6 August 2021, the tournament will not run in its traditional format but will see 32 of the country’s best male and female players battle it out while treating fans once again to some spectacular racket action.

England No.1s James Willstrop, aka “the Marksman”, and Sarah Jane-Perry are the defending champions after having won in Nottingham in February 2020.



National Squash Centre, Gate 13, Rowsley Street, Manchester M11 3FF

Get Directions(Opens in new tab)

Getting there

The 219 and 231 bus lines both stop near the National Squash Centre.

Head to Eithad Campus, which is served by Manchester's train, tube and tram networks.

There are spaces available for eight bikes at the National Squash Centre.

Use the postal code M11 3FF for satellite navigation. There is free car parking available at the National Squash Centre, with 55 spaces available plus five accessible spaces.


The AJ Bell British National Squash Championships are set to take place from 3 – 6 August 2021.

The AJ Bell British National Squash Championships will be held in Manchester's National Squash Centre. Find more details about the location here.

Tickets for the AJ Bell British National Squash Championships 2021 tournament are on sale now.