Skip to main content


The Comedy Store

Line up

More acts to be announced...


10 Upcoming Events

United Kingdom

10 Events
Loaded 10 out of 10 events


Long-standing proving ground for the best of UK comedy

The Comedy Store first opened its doors in 1979, after founder Don Ward was inspired by New York and LA’s famous comedy clubs and the treasure troves of comedic talent ushered forth from their stages. In a bid to find new talent, Ward placed an ad in the paper for bored 9-5 office workers who secretly harboured dreams of being a comedy superstar. The first respondent was Alexei Sayle, a man whose furious anti-establishment rants would make him host for three years and an enduring symbol of 80s England’s new wave of comedy.

Comedy nights would start at midnight (once the strip club upstairs was closed) and sometimes run on until 4am. New acts had five minutes and a gong to tell them when to get off. Early stars included French and Saunders, Rik Mayall, Ade Edmundson, Keith Allen, Robin Williams, Paul Merton, Clive Anderson and Ben Elton.

Over the years, new innovations placed The Comedy Store at the forefront of British Comedy. Mike Myers (of Wayne’s World and Austin Powers fame) kickstarted The Comedy Store players, while the topical panel show was pioneered by The Edge, which counts big names from Bill Bailey to Eddie Izzard amongst its alumni and predated even Have I Got News For You by six months.

With the original only growing in popularity, The Comedy Store branched out and opened a Manchester premises on Deansgate Locks in 2000. A third Store in Bournemouth followed in 2006. 

In 2020, a very special run of shows was announced at the O2 Kentish Town Forum, starring Eddie Izzard, Sara Pascoe, Jason Manford, Bridget Christie, Ed Byrne, Milton Jones, Iain Stirling and Nina Conti.

Full list of performances for O2 Kentish Town Forum*

30 October 2020 – Sara Pascoe with Jayde Adams, Scott Bennett, Andy Askins and Tania Edwards

31 October 2020 – Sara Pascoe with Jayde Adams, Mike Gunn, Andy Askins and Abigoliah Schamaun

7 November 2020 – Jason Manford

14 November 2020 – Nina Conti

21 November 2020 – Iain Stirling

28 November 2020 – Milton Jones

5 December 2020 – Bridget Christie

12 December 2020 – Ed Byrne

*more performances to be announced