Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, use any of these supported browsers: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge.
Skip to main content


Allam British Open Squash Championships


0 Upcoming Events

We're sorry, but we couldn’t find any events



Where squash champions are made

Second only to the Professional Squash Association World Championships in renown, the British Open began in 1929, with the men’s first title holder designated as Charles Reed in 1930.

Considered the “Wimbledon of squash”, the British Open is the sport’s longest-running tournament and has become the most distinguished event on the PSA World Tour calendar.

The women’s British Open squash championships actually began earlier in 1922, but were run as an amateur event until 1974. At that inaugural women’s tournament Joyce Cave defeated her sister Nancy.

Over the years, the British Open has seen some of the greatest players of all time battle it out to lift the prestigious trophy.

Since 2013 the squash tournament has been held in Hull. Egyptian double Mohamed ElShorbagy and Nouran Gohar won the 2019 Allam British Open. ElShorbagy claimed his third title after a tough four-game battle with Ali Farag, while Gohar stormed through straight games to beat Camille Serme and collect the title for her first time.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 Allam British Open squash championships were cancelled.

Originally planned for June, the PSA along with England Squash and title sponser Dr Assem Allam moved the 2021 Allam British Open. Set to return to the University of Hull, it will be held from 16 – 22 August 2021. Along with the prestigious trophy, the tournament also boasts a total prize pool of $350,000 to be split equally across the men’s and women’s draws.


The Allam British Open is set to run from 16 – 22 August 2021.

The Allam British Open Squash Championships will be held at the University of Hull's Sport Facilities.

Tickets for the 2021 Allam British Open squash championships are on sale now.